Here’s to Baby Food: Peas

Everybody needs green vegetables in their life. That’s my opinion, in any case. So here’s a recipe for pea puree. Mine turned out really great, even if baby isn’t the biggest fan.

Ingredients:
2 cups fresh or frozen peas
That’s it!

1. Steam the peas. If you are using fresh peas, wash them first. I use frozen because they’re cheaper, and just as good as fresh in this instance. I used my Oster steamer again (just like when I made the Apples), because it’s easy. Once again, a steamer basket over a pot of boiling water will work just as well as long as the basket has small enough holes that the peas won’t fall through. It should take about 5 minutes, and they’ll be a bright beautiful green when they’re done.

2. Run the peas under cold water to stop the cooking.

3. Process the peas in a food processor or blender until smooth. Add water or cooking liquid as needed to make it the right consistency. As usual I used my basic Hamilton Beach blender with cooking liquid to thin the puree. In this case the ingredients would have fit in my mini-prep, but I didn’t want it to be a tight fit, so I went with the blender. Plus the pour spout makes putting the puree into containers simple.

4. Transfer to containers (I use the OXO Tot baby food containers because they’re airtight, plus freezer and microwave safe). To store, keep in the refrigerator for up to 3 days, or in the freezer for up to 3 months. Simple as can be.

So far the easiest baby food I’ve made (but I haven’t done bananas or avocado yet).

Leave a comment